Return to Website

Four Hills Ranch Forum

Where the stars shine like diamonds in the sky!

A meeting place for neighbors. 
Feel free to post a message or start a new topic!

Choose your own format (board style or threaded style) for viewing this forum...

Four Hills Ranch Forum
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
Septic recommendations

Hello everyone,
This is my first time posting here but I have been reading this BB for some time now. I find it to be a valuable source of information and enjoy reading about the various topics.

We are finally planning our septic installation and I thought this would be an ideal place to ask for some advice or recommendations. Our property is located on Blanco Trail along Cataract Canyon and I suspect that a conventional system will not be an option for us.

What types of systems are other people using at the ranch and what contractors should I consider looking at? Also, any ballpark ideas on what I will be looking at cost-wise?

Thank you,
Doug Frederickson

Re: Septic recommendations

Doug,
Don't give up on a conventional septic system.
There are a few owners who were approved for a conventional system.

Getting approved depends on the excavator, designer, and county inspector.

We, unfortunately, were dealing with a corrupt excavator/septic system vendor who only sold expensive "alternative" septic systems!
Also, at the time the designer we used was looped into selling these systems to off-the-grid homeowners, so she didn't provide us with any other options either.

There are other systems to be found. When you begin the process be sure to get a second or third opinion.

Sherrian

Kind of light on information, Doug. Maybe this will help. Thad Johnson sent me this from Coconino County.

http://www.coconino.az.gov/comdev.aspx?id=147